Tags

, , , , , ,

Sitting on my desk are a number of vial boxes and some cases filled with various scents and oils.  As I start the new year, I plan to review a scent a day for 2012 (and perhaps beyond, depending on the state of my collection).  I will generally try to follow the following format, noting the scent name and manufacturer, citing the notes and manufacturer’s description, reviewing the scent in the bottle, wet, and dry an any other notable features such as oil color, bottle design or artwork, and my husband’s often laconic impressions of said scents. With that said, let us begin.

Scent Name:  Black Cat          

Manufacturer:  Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – Bewitching Brews collection: Conjure Bag

Scent Description and Notes: “A very tricky kitty, indeed. Used most often as a key to bringing back the joy one needs to have in life in order for living to feel worthwhile. Brings back a sense of delight in simple pleasures, and creates a surge of childlike curiosity and a youthful sense of fun. This blend can also be used to reverse troublesome lesser crossings, create a playful air of catlike sexuality, and, because cats will be cats, it can also be used to throw minor, irritating or bothersome hexes, causing small amounts of chaos and disruption to your foes.” -BPAL.  Notes are not explicitly mentioned.

Oil Color:  The color of the perfume is a lovely champagne color, which I often associate with lighter scents and florals.

Bottle Design and Artwork:  This is a standard vial / imp size.  The label wrapped around the bottle features the Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab’s artwork of an Art Deco phoenix on one side and the title of the scent written in large, clear red font on the front.  Note that scents from this company come in imp and 5ml sizes.  The 5ml sizes always have beautiful artwork associated with the scent on the front label.

Scent:

  • In the Imp (ITI):  My first impression is that is a wonderfully clean and feminine scent.  It reminds me of light powder and budding roses.  On additional sniffs, I can discern mint and a bit of oriental spiciness.
  • Wet:  The mint comes to the forefront on my skin and rose seems to be the note that has take back stage.  I do get a lovely mingling of the oriental spices with the mint, and just a touch of powder rounding off the scent.
  • Dry: (15 minutes)  The rose has warmed up more on my skin so that it competes on an even par with the mint.  There is just the slightest hint of spice. There still is a powderiness as a secondary note, but it isn’t overt, which is pleasing. At the dry stage, this scent is very light and feminine.
Other Impressions:  Husband’s impression:  “Kind of smells like grandma…too baby powdery.”  He generally isn’t a fan of anything powdering at all.  Usually I’m not, but I actually think this scent is nice. It struck me as a scent I’d like to wear to a tea party or a slightly formal day-time affair.

