Tags

, , , , ,

I’m thrilled that BPAL has a Lovecraft-inspired scent line.  The only difficulty is that aquatics, of which there are a few in this line, tend not to play nice on my skin. Thankfully, Shub-Niggurath is not, so I envision the glorious things this will do on my skin.

Scent Name:  Shub-Niggurath

Manufacturer:  Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – A Picnic in Arkham

Scent Description and Notes: Iä! Shub-Niggurath! The Black Goat of the Woods with a Thousand Young, the All-Mother and wife of the Not-to-Be-Named-One.

The lust incense of a corrupted Astarte. A blend of ritual herbs and dark resins, shot through with three gingers and aphrodisiacal spices. ” -BPAL

Oil Color:  A slightly more orange amber color.

Bottle Design and Artwork:  This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz).  The label wrapped around the bottle features an the standard Art Deco phoenix wiith the the name of the company at the bottle of the image. On the other side, the title of the scent written in large, clear black font outlined with red on the front.

by Liv Rainey-Smith

Woodblock print by Liv Rainey-Smith

Scent:

  • In the Imp (ITI): On first sniff, this smells distinctly like ginger Altoids.  Oh no!  My husband claims he can smell orange rinds and a bit of vanilla. There certainly is a warmness to the scent that does make me think of a vanilla or amber note, even though I do not see it in the scent note description.  On third sniff, the resins are detectable, although just barely.
  • Wet: Hmm, I’m getting spicy gingersnap cookies. The resin and spices are making it a bit more complex with the cinnamon and perhaps a nutmeg spice notes of this scent.
  • Dry:  Once dry (+2 hours), the vanilla or amber scent has died down so I’m left with spiced/dried ginger overtones with a darker spice (nutmeg) underneath.
Other Impressions: I’m not a person who is generally into foody scents.  The ginger here is nice, but I think I’d want to temper it with something more woodsy to tone down the sweetness of this scent.