Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I swapped for this imp so I could see if it should go on my must-have list.  However,  I’m a sucker for limited edition items.

Scent Name: Steam Goth

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – Event Exclusive: Bat’s Day 2011

Scent Description and Notes: “Oil-spattered brass, engine grease, and a warm splash of Victorian aftershave.” – BPAL

Oil Color: The color of fresh motor oil.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz). Since this is an imp I bought from someone online, the imp packs the traditional label.  Instead,  it features simply a hand-written title on a small strip of label, which has been taped over.  No other artwork is present.

Scent:

  • In the Imp (ITI):  The strength of the aftershave is nearly overpowering; however, I can just detect the metallic note of brass, which intrigues me.
  • Wet: Strong brass initially, then it gives way to fancy Victorian aftershave and just a hint of mechanical oil.  I would love to smell my husband in this, but it is just a tiny bit masculine for me at the moment.
  • Dry: Wow, it’s a totally different scent – much more mellow, but much more powdery and floral as well.  None of the brass or oil remain, which diminishes significantly from this scent’s appeal.

Other Impressions: Apparently it smells like my husband’s grandma, specifically her Opium perfume.

