Tags

, , , , ,

I’m so in love with the whole Cthulhu mythos that I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it works for me.  Epitaph was slightly aquatic and it wasn’t bad, so I’m hoping that this is amazing.  After all, an evil submerged city that is home to a terrifying quasi-deity sounds like the perfect scent for my line of work.

Scent Name:  R’lyeh

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – A Picnic in Arkham

Scent Description and Notes: “Ph’nglui mglw’nafh Cthulhu R’lyeh wgah’nagl fhtagn. The sunken city of the Great God Cthulhu. A hellishly dark aquatic scent, evocative of fathomless oceanic deeps, the mysteries of madness buried under crushing black waters, and the brooding eternal evil that lies beneath the waves.” -BPAL

Oil Color: A deep and lovely mahogany color.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz). The label wrapped around the bottle features an Art-Deco inspired Phoenix with the the name of the company at the bottle of the image. On the other side, the title of the scent written in large, clear black font outlined with red on the front.

Scent: 

  • In the Imp (ITI):  It smells like the ocean (salty, deep water, and a little kelp) with…grapefruit?  How odd.
  • Wet:  Rolling waves, briny kelp, some oud, perhaps, and just a touch of citrus.  I really enjoy this while wet.  I would love to take a bath in it.
  • Dry: Slightly aquatic, but pleasantly so.  There is still just a touch of sweetness, which makes this scent appealing to me.  Finally, an aquatic I like!

Other Impressions: Specialized soap dish soap with something else according to Tony.  When I explained to him about aquatics, he commented that he liked it – it smelled nice.  Keep pile it is!

