Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I ordered this decant as it had coconut and sandalwood.  As I’ve tested more and learned what does and does not work on my skin, the hydrangea and wisteria have me a bit worried for this scent.

Scent Name:  Springtime Playfulness

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – Lupercalia 2011:  Novel Ideas for Secret Amusements IV (1/18/11-3/21/11)

Scent Description and Notes: “Green and brown musks, coconut husk, wisteria, lemongrass, hydrangea, cranberry, woody sandalwood, and ripe squash.” -BPAL

Oil Color: A sweet looking golden yellow.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz). This is a decant from ralenth, who tries to match the bottle art to the art she provides on the imp.  On the back, she has the notes of the scent in large font.  On the side, she has her decanting name, while the front features the name of the collection and the name of the scent framing the image associated with the scent. The image is a shunga woodblock print of a man of some stature with a traditional green sandogasa hat and an exaggerated phallus poking another man with a shaved and top-knotted hairstyle, who appears to be surprised or running away, with a red fan.

Warning: The following link contains a not-safe-for-work image. By clicking this link, you agree that you are over 18 years of age:  Springtime Playfulness

Scent: 

  • ITI:  Wow, it’s clearly berries on first sniff. The cranberries are ripe and ready for eating.  The longer I sniff, the more I can make out faint wisteria and some muskiness.  It’s interesting and sweet, although not overpoweringly so.  I was hoping to smell some squash here, but I don’t get any of the other notes save the ones I already mentioned.
  • Wet: Heavy cranberry and sweet coconut with clear undernotes of hydrangea and musk.  It is rather sweet on my skin so I hope that goes away on dry down. 
  • Dry: It smells like faint cranberries, musk, and the weakest impression of coconut  possible.  It doesn’t last long on my skin at all – about two hours until it is this faint.  

Other Impressions: It smells like one of those tree-shaped car scents to my husband.

