Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I remember liking The Grave Pig, the other scent I’ve tested so far from the Marchen: Elfin Hill line.  I do love ambergris, but the magnolia worries me a little.

Scent Name: Moonshine and Mist

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – Marchen: The Elfin Hill

Scent Description and Notes: “MOONSHINE AND MIST The elfin maidens were already dancing on the elf hill, and they danced in shawls woven from moonshine and mist, which looked very pretty to those who like such things. Ethereal, otherworldly, delicate: ambergris, white musk, water violet, ylang ylang, magnolia, and white sandalwood. ” -BPAL

Oil Color:  A Nearly colorless liquid with a cool tinge to it.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz). The label wrapped around the bottle features an Art-Deco inspired Phoenix with the the name of the company at the bottle of the image. On the other side, the title of the scent written in large, clear black font outlined with red on the front.

Scent: 

  • ITI: It’s faintly feminine and floral – the magnolia and some ylang ylang conjure images of petals floating gently on a pond, sending soft ripples out toward the shore. 
  • Wet: Sandalwood and  ylang ylang are the leading notes on my skin.  As it dries, the florals become much sharper. 
  • Dry: When it’s initial dry, I get baby oil, of which I happen to like the scent.  After a while, the white sandalwood has turned to a pleasant powderiness with just a little floral essence to give it some dimension.  It’s certainly a clean scent  that I would consider wearing again. 

Other Impressions: Powder and baby oil to my husband’s nose. He likes it, as do I.

