Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I remember purchasing this imp specifically because it has a saffron note and I’m interested to see what that smells like on my skin.

Scent Name:  In the Forest

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab –  Bards of Ireland: 2/3/12 – 4/30/12

Scent Description and Notes: “Out of the mid-wood’s twilight
Into the meadow’s dawn,
Ivory limbed and brown-eyed,
Flashes my Faun!

He skips through the copses singing,
And his shadow dances along,
And I know not which I should follow,
Shadow or song!

O Hunter, snare me his shadow!
O Nightingale, catch me his strain!
Else moonstruck with music and madness
I track him in vain!
– Oscar Wilde

A wild, passion-inflamed skin musk with black pine pitch, brown leather, black clove, copal, white sage, oakmoss, patchouli, and saffron.” -BPAL

Oil Color: A goldenrod oil color. 

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz). This is a decant from Truelove, who tries to match the bottle art to the art she provides on the imp.  On the back, she has the notes of the scent, the scent name, the company acronym, the collection, and the decanting information.  The front features and image of a fae-type individual in a loose, flowing white dress, who look like she is praying under the cover of trees.  As she does so, two fawn quietly investigate.

Scent: 

  • ITI:  Leather here definitely is a brown leather.  I small that coupled with clove on first sniff.  Even without smelling more of this scent’s depth, I really like it. On second sniff, I can smell the sweet resin of patchouli and the slightly astringent quality of sage.  Yum!
  • Wet: The leather is the first note that I smell on my skin, followed closely bby the resinous sweetness of copal and patchouli.  The clove rounds out the detectable notes nicely.    It reminds me of riding horseback though the forest when I was a child. 
  • Dry:Leather and something that smells a little like berries.  There is a soft spiciness from the clove and patchouli as well.  Pretty.

Other Impressions: New car leather smell according to my husband.

