Tags

, , , , , , ,

This is one of my mother’s favorites from BPAL.  Oddly enough, I’ve never tested it myself.

Scent Name:  Port-Au-Prince

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – Wanderlust

Scent Description and Notes: “Dark, decadent and incomparably exotic: the rich scent of buttered rum flavored with almond, bay, clove and sassafras. -BPAL

Oil Color: A very pale yellow.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz). The label wrapped around the bottle features an Art-Deco inspired Phoenix with the name of the company at the bottle of the image. On the other side, the title of the scent written in large, clear black font outlined with red on the front.

Scent: 

  • In the Imp (ITI):  The sassafras and clove are rather prominent, but I do get hints of buttered rum underneath.  It’s really spicy, but it a great way.
  • Wet:  Now it reminds me of spiced pastries around Christmas.  The clove is such an earthy, pure clove that I can’t help but fall for this scent.
  • Dry: The clove has a dry quality to it and there is just a hint of spiced sweetness from the sassafras.  Despite my husband’s impressions, I think this is a keeper.

Other Impressions:  It is kinda sorostitute-y according to Tony.  He also claims there is something like juniper, but he admits it might have been the sassafras.

