Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

When the Moths and Butterflies update went live, there were a few scents that I wanted to try to see if a bottle should be had. I originally thought all these notes would be genius; however, now that I’ve realized my skin and nose do not like spikenard at all, I’m worried about this one.

Scent Name:  White Peacock

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – Metamorphosis: 5/3-9/4/12

Scent Description and Notes: “Teak, ebony wood, osmanthus, patchouli, red sandalwood, vanilla orchid, tonka bean, tobacco, wild musk, spikenard, and sugandh kokila ” -BPAL

Sugandh kokila is an extract from dried Himalayan evergreen berries that yield a strong camphor-like smell.

Oil Color: A slightly peachy tinged liquid.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz). This is a decant from Catseyes, who tries to match the bottle art to the art she provides on the imp.  On the back, she has the notes of the scent the company name, and the date.  The front features the name of the scent with an image matching the bottle art, which is the scent’s namesaked butterfly.

Scent: 

  • ITI: It’s rather woodsy on first sniff.  I can pick up the ebony, sandalwood, light tobacco and musk.  It’s actually rather nice in the bottle.  Hopefully the spikenard doesn’t make its debut on my skin.
  • Wet: Tobacco, tonka, and vanilla come out as top scents, beautifully and sweetly combined.  Under that is sandalwood and ebony.  This is much nicer than I had anticipated. 
  • Dry:  I get sandalwood, ebony, musk, tonka and tobacco.  I don’t get any of the sharpness from the spikenard, wohoo!

Other Impressions: Orange and caramel according to Tony.

