Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I managed to find a wonderful person who provided me with full imp samples of the coveted Anime Expo limited edition scents.  This is a new division, although I have drooled over some of the fashions that use rich burgundy and gold, which is part of Dolly Kei. I’m hoping the scent is just as sumptuous.

Scent Name:  Dolly Kei

Manufacturer:  Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – Event Exclusive – Bat’s Day at Anime Expo 2012

Scent Description and Notes: DOLLY KEI
Antiqued bourbon vanilla and tobacco-tinged yellow sandalwood with copal and amber incense, frankincense, tonka absolute, and myrrh.
” – BPAL

Oil Color: A 14k gold color.

Bottle Design and Artwork:  This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz).  The label wrapped around the bottle is hand-created. It is simply a hand written half label taped around the bottle.  The artwork associated with this scent is the character in the purple dress with the black rose in her hair.

Scent:

  • In the Imp (ITI): I get bourbon vanilla and amber with subtle hints of myrrh and frankincense – it’s really pretty.
  • Wet: On my skin, the copal and amber are much more prominent, although I’m also getting the tonka.  I smell hints of the vanilla bourbon, but it is no longer the dominant note.
  • Dry:  Now the bourbon vanilla has emerged again.  The scent is pleasantly sweet with resinous overtones and woody undertones.
Other Impressions: Caramel, vanilla, and some kind of aromatic spice like cardamon or something along those lines to Tony’s nose.
