Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Foody – I’m hoping it’s odd enough that it goes beyond foody to novelty.

Scent Name:  Mouse Circus

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – Neil Gaiman: Coraline

Scent Description and Notes: “In the flat above Coraline’s, under the roof, was a crazy old man with a big mustache. He told Coraline that he was training a mouse circus. He wouldn’t let anyone see it.

“One day, little Caroline, when they are all ready, everyone in the whole world will see the wonders of my mouse circus. You ask me why you cannot see it now. Is that what you asked me?”

“No,” said Coraline quietly, “I asked you not to call me Caroline. It’s Coraline.”

“The reason you cannot see the mouse circus,” said the man upstairs, “is that the mice are not yet ready and rehearsed. Also, they refuse to play the songs I have written for them. All the songs I have written for the mice to play go oompah oompah. But the white mice will only play toodle oodle, like that. I am thinking of trying them on different types of cheese.”

A toodle oodle of pink cotton candy noses, vanilla spun sugar fur, scattered kernels of popcorn, and a touch of polished golden wood.” -BPAL

Oil Color:  Colorless, but with a cold tint, like a very faint blue.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz). This is a decant from ralenth, who tries to match the bottle art to the art she provides on the imp.  On the back, she has the notes of the scent in large, cursive font.  On the side, she has her decanting name, while the front features the name of the collection and the name of the scent framing the image associated with the scent. The image is  of the mice playing various instruments set against a mottled red background.

Image from http://www.blackphoenixalchemylab.com/coraline.html                                                          

Scent:  

  • ITI:  This reminds me of those popcorn balls little kids used to make around October in elementary school – popcorn, caramel, peanut butter, and lots of sugar.  I don’t get any cotton candy, though.
  • Wet: Yes, I still get popcorn balls, although there is more vanilla and a touch of strawberry cotton candy when I inhale deeply.  
  • Dry: Caramel popcorn, sugar, and warm cotton candy.  It’s so overly foody that I think I may like it.  

Other Impressions: Tony gets caramel popcorn and black pepper.

