Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

In light of the Halloweenie updates, I thought I’d review a few of the Halloweenies from a couple years ago

Scent Name:  Halloween: Brooklyn

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab –  Halloween: Mnemosyne (8/13/10-11/23/10)

Scent Description and Notes: HALLOWEEN: BROOKLYN
When I was very little, my father took me to the Green-Wood Cemetery so that I could pay my respects to those who had passed before us. I remember the afternoon as cold and clear, I remember picking up pine cones and putting them in my mother’s handbag, and I remember the blanket of purple flowers that dotted the grass.

Flowering dogwood, weeping cherry, Korean pine, camellia, moonflower, Alberta spruce, arborvitae, and crab apples.” -BPAL

Arborvitae, also known as Thuja, is a member of the cypress family, and while known as cedars, are not true ones. It has a camphor-like quality to its scent. 

Oil Color: A very faint yellow oil.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz). This is a decant from ralenth.  On the back, she has the notes of the scent in large, cursive font.  On the side, she has her decanting name, while the front features the name of the collection and the name of the scent framing the image. The image is a painting of Renaissance styled saints praying together.

Scent:  

  • ITI:  It’s very woodsy with lots of green, almost to an astringent level.  The arborvitae, pine, and spruce are very clear.  They just jump out of the imp and assault my nose. There is a little softness from the cherry and moonflower if I concentrate.
  • Wet: Heavy spruce and arborvita – green and still astringent.  There is still a bit of cherry, but when paired with the greenness, it comes across as kind of soapy on a deeper level. 
  • Dry:  It smells like I wanted though a shrub garden.  I get less softness and it ends up being too green, which is significant because I adore green scents.  

Other Impressions: Tony says it smells like herbs and roses.

