Tags

, , , , , , , ,

As soon as I see the petitgrain, my whole body starts to tense up.  I hope this note does not show up on me.

Scent Name:  To A Woman

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab –Ars Amatoria

Scent Description and Notes: “Thy fatal shafts unerring move,
I bow before thine altar, Love.
I feel thy soft resistless flame
Glide swift through all my vital frame.

For while I gaze my bosom glows,
My blood in tides impetuous flows;
Hope, fear, and joy alternate roll,
And floods of transports whelm my soul.

My faltering tongue attempts in vain
In soothing murmurs to complain;
My tongue some secret magic ties,
My murmurs sink in broken sighs.

Condemned to nurse eternal care,
And ever drop the silent tear,
Unheard I mourn, unknown I sigh,
Unfriended live, unpitied die.

Benzoin, cassis bud, patchouli, rose otto, and petitgrain. -BPAL

Oil Color:  A golden grain color.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz). The label wrapped around the bottle features an Art-Deco inspired Phoenix with the name of the company at the bottle of the image. On the other side, the title of the scent written in large, clear black font outlined with red on the front.

Scent: 

  • In the Imp (ITI):  Benzoin, rose otto, touches of cassis, and a roundness from the petitgrain.  It’s not super offensive, but I’m reserving judgment.
  • Wet: Stronger rose otto, which I like, followed by benzoin and just a trace of peitigrain.  It’s behaving so far…good. 
  • Dry: The petitgrain rears its head, causing the  whole scent to turn soapy.  Poor rose otto is drowning it its suds.

Other Impressions: After 3 hours of dry time, I’m simply left with the rose otto.  It’s simple and pretty in it’s ultimate form, but I’m not too fond of the initial dry.

