Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I’m going to try to tease out the scents here, but I’m sick, so I’m not sure how much my stuffy nose will distort the notes.

Scent Name:  Caligula

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – Unreleased Scents

Scent Description and Notes: None.

Oil Color:  A lovely rusted orange.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz). The label wrapped around the bottle features an Art-Deco inspired Phoenix with the name of the company at the bottle of the image. On the other side, the title of the scent written in large, clear black font outlined with red on the front.

Scent: 

  • In the Imp (ITI): I get wine for some reason, but it’s a sweeter wine than some of the other scents I’ve tested.  On second sniff, I get vetiver and something that reminds me of oiled bronze.  There might be a faint hint of citrus and myrrh.  Interesting.
  • Wet:   Oh yeah, that is certainly red wine and vetiver.  I”m still getting a little metal and something resinous, maybe a little darker that myrrh. 
  • Dry: Less bred wine now, but strong vetiver, patchouli, some myrrh, and maybe a touch of amber.  Hmm, I actually like Caligula.

Other Impressions:  “Rose wine and baby powder.” – Tony

