Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Scent Name: Tintagel

Manufacturer:  Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – Wanderlust

Scent Description and Notes: According to legend, the birthplace of King Arthur. The scent of a castle’s great hall in the midst of joyous feasting. Spicy mulled wine flowing through the musky heat, warm leather and bright clash of armor, the damp branches of Cornish hawthorn, blackthorn, juniper, English elm and bayberry, and the magical tingle of dragon’s blood resin. – BPAL

Oil Color:  A candied orange color.

Bottle Design and Artwork:  This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz).  The label wrapped around the bottle features an Art-Deco inspired clockwork structure with the the name of the company at the bottle of the image. On the other side, the title of the scent written in large, clear black font outlined with red on the front.

Scent:

  • In the Imp (ITI): I smell leather, juniper, dragon’s blood resin, and mulled wine in that order.
  • Wet: Mulled wine is very much making its presence known. I can smell some juniper underneath, and just a little resin finishing it off. Right now, it reminds me of mulled spiced rum. Yum!
  • Dry: The dragon’s blood now seems like the primary scent, toned down just slightly by the mulled wine. I can smell hints of leather cured in juniper berries and damp woods. I’m still adoring it!
Other Impressions:  Given my track record with wine, I should not like this, but it is just fabulous.  I want to roll around in it like cat nip.  Tony thinks it smells like mulled spices and orange peel, which he likes.
