Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m breaking into my Yule scents for the next few weekends in preparation for the next BPAL update.

Scent Name:  On Darkness

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – Yule 2009

Scent Description and Notes: “You darkness, that I come from,
I love you more than all the fires
that fence in the world,
for the fire makes
a circle of light for everyone,
and then no one outside learns of you.
But the darkness pulls in everything;
shapes and fires, animals and myself,
how easily it gathers them! —
powers and people —
and it is possible a great energy
is moving near me.
I have faith in nights.

An embrace: black poppy, lavender, thick black incense, black amber, rose geranium, Brazilian rosewood, and benzoin.” -BPAL

Oil Color: A new penny color.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz). This is a decant from ralenth.  She has the name of the scent, collection and company acronym in bold on back.  Underneath, it has the scent notes.   Her decanting name is on the front along with a mostly dark picture of a male with black angel wings turned away from the camera so the wings fill up most of the image.

Scent: 

  • ITI:  Deep incense, sweet rose geranium, luscious amber with subtle undertones of poppy.  It’s warm, exotic, and complex.
  • Wet: It’s a little sharper with the rose geranium and lavender at the start, but as I inhale, it warms up with the incense, benzoin, and thick amber.  There is still a touch of poppy, which adds to the complexity. 
  • Dry:  I tested this last morning and evening but didn’t review it.  I still have some scent left over on my wrist – so we are looking at 18 hours that this has stayed sniffable on my skin. Reapplied, the black incense and amber are thick and sultry while they lightly veil the poppy and hints of rose geranium.  It’s gorgeous! 

Other Impressions: “It smells like verbena and lemongrass and sh*t.  Am I close?  It’s not bad.  It smells good.” -Tony

