Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Ah, it was a leap year, and so 366 officially represents the end of my 2012 reviews.  Since I still have a full box of imps (96), two large storage books (Michael’s) of 5ml bottles, and a whole drawer filled with designer perfume, I think my resolution for 2013 will be to keep reviewing a scent a day until I have reviewed all perfumes and fragrances that I have in and around the house.  I’m not sure if this will take me a full year, but I will keep reviewing until I am done.

Scent Name:  Butterscotch and Blackbeetles

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab –  Neil Gaiman: Coraline

Scent Description and Notes: “The other mother sat down on the big sofa. She picked up a shopping bag from beside the sofa and took out a white, rustling, paper bag from inside it.

She extended the hand with it to Coraline. “Would you like one?” she asked politely.

Expecting it to be a toffee or a butterscotch ball, Coraline looked down. The bag was half filled with large shiny blackbeetles, crawling over each other in their efforts to get out of the bag.

“No,” said Coraline. “I don’t want one.”

“Suit yourself,” said her other mother. She carefully picked out a particularly large and black beetle, pulled off its legs (which she dropped, neatly, into a big glass ashtray on the small table beside the sofa), and popped the beetle into her mouth. She crunched it happily.

“Yum,” she said, and took another.

“You’re sick,” said Coraline. “Sick and evil and weird.”

“Is that any way to talk to your mother?” her other mother asked, with her mouth full of blackbeetles.

Butterscotch candies flecked with dirt, encased in a shiny black shell of myrrh, patchouli, and anise seed.” -BPAL

butterscotch

Artwork is by Vera Brosgol.

Oil Color:  A butterscotch color.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz). This is a sniffie from ralenth, but there is enough to test it.  It features a half label wrapped around the middle of the vial.  Her decanting name frames the company acronym and the scent name, while the back displays the scent notes.

Scent: 

  • ITI:  Earthy butterscotch with a little anise seed and myrrh.  It’s super sweet, but a little earthy at the same time.  Odd.
  • Wet: Thick, sweet butterscotch candies (those round ones), dirt, and patchouli.  It smells like one of those candies hand been dropped on the ground.  
  • Dry:  While my nose is stuff after finally succumbing to my cold, I can still detect faint butterscotch and myrrh.  It’s rather pleasant when given time to dry sufficiently. 

Other Impressions: “All I’m getting is fake microwave popcorn butter.” -Tony

