Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Scent Name:  Halloween in Innsmouth

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab –  Halloween: Mnemosyne 2012

Scent Description and Notes: “When I was little, a summoning went awry at the standing stones in the grove by my house, and the ensuing carnage in the neighborhood effectively ruled out the possibility of trick or treating locally that year. My parents didn’t want me to be disappointed, so they drove my brother and m’self to Innsmouth for the night. The people manning the festively decked-out skiffs that were moored in the sand-clogged harbor were incredibly generous with their candy, and my brother and I ended the night as happy as two sugar-high little kids could be.

The strange beauty of the crumbling Georgian houses and their widow’s walks is forever etched in my memory, along with the distinct scent of fish and kelpy incense.

Innsmouth: Halloween, 1983. Fish and ceremonial incense.” -BPAL

Oil Color:  A fish oil color.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz). This is a decant from Absinthetics.  On the back, she has the notes of the scent, the title of the scent in orange, the company acronym in bold, and her decanting information. The front has the scent name in a creepy 1980’s horror-film font against a background of green and dripping blood.

Scent: 

  • ITI: Oh yeah, that’s brined fish with some copal and something else.  My
  • Wet: I’m getting wet kelp now with my brined fished.  There is also a strange and unsettling dusty tone to the scent. 
  • Dry: It’s more incense than anything else, but the wet scent is enough to scare me off. 

Other Impressions: “It smells like my Great Aunt X.  That’s not a good thing.  Is one of the notes old lady pee?” -Tony

