Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Ah, Valentine’s Day – a celebration steeped in old transition, yet oddly moved to the 14th to rid it of its pagan fertility-based associations.  I’ve had difficulty with the V-Day before, specifically with my significant other who had a bad taste left in his mouth from the deeds of others.  To that extent, I tried to de-commercialize the day for us both while focusing on the joyful implications of by-gone eras. As such, I’m going to continue to review my scents in order rather than looking for one that might better suit the day.

Scent Name: Buen Viage

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab –  Limited Edition:  Pickman Gallery: Feverish Fancies, 9/27/12-12/30/12

Scent Description and Notes: Buen Viage, Francisco de Goya.
Tonka bean, red sandalwood, black pepper, vetiver, hiba wood, turmeric root, and Ceylon cinnamon.” -BPAL

Oil Color:  A light whiskey color.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz). This is a decant from Absinthetics.  On the back, she has the notes of the scent, the title of the scent in orange, the company acronym in bold, and her decanting information. The image is a very dark charcoal looking image of a harpy flying away with several heads in distress on its back.

Buen Viage, Francisco de Goya.

Buen Viage, Francisco de Goya.

Scent: 

  • ITI:  Hiba wood has this beautiful, fresh, and aromatic quality when paired with red sandalwood.  It transports me and calms me a little.  Hmm, I like this already.
  • Wet: Hiba wood is still the dominant note, but now I get cinnamon and a touch of tonka paired with the sandalwood.  It’s deep, exotic, woody…just gorgeous
  • Dry:  It’s such a lovely scent dried as well – wood, cinnamon, sandalwood, sweet tonka, and a touch of smoky vetiver.  

Other Impressions:  “Powder, nag champa, and weed.  Sorry, that’s what it smells like to me.” -Tony

