Tags

, , , , , , ,

I decided to attend the Weill-Call this evening and I was impressed by some of the more recent releases.  I’m glad I was able to smell them as there are some clear winners to my nose.   BedlamBedlam Will Call Impressions:

Water Snake:  Delicious, bright, and effervescent.  I was originally weary because it might have been overly fruit, but it’s absolutely delightful and is currently being added to my order list now.

Luperci: I like the musky, naughty aspect of this scent, but it ends up smelling like other patchouli and honey blends.

Night Thoughts:  I didn’t consider this for an order because ozone tends to smell like cat pee on my skin; however, this ozone does not.  The scent overall is deeply floral from the lilac, while still retaining some complexity and intrigue from the neroli and the Eastern herbs.  It’s a contender for me, but I’d prefer an imp rather than a bottle.

The Rapture and  Roses of Vice:  If you like rose scents, this is a must have.  The rose reminds me of Peacock Queen’s rose note, but the sweetness of the coconut paired with the tobacco and cinnamon make it complexly grown up.  Again, this is going on my order list now.

In His Hands All Thy Cruelties Thrive: The leather note in this scent is assertive.  It reminds me of a fitted stiff black leather coat.  I want to wrap myself in the note alone, but when coupled with the clove and vetiver, the scent makes me want to swoon.

Now, for your regularly scheduled review…

Scent Name:  The Appalling Abattoir

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab –  Halloweenie 2012

Scent Description and Notes: “Echoes of crimes long-ago hidden: a slaughter hastily washed away, leaving flecks of gore to settle deep within the rough-hewn stone floor.” -BPAL

Oil Color:  A woodsy pitch color.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz). This is a decant from ralenth.  On the back, she has the notes of the scent.  The side features her decanting name while the front has the company acronym, collection, decanted amount, date, and image.  The black and white image is of  bloodied butcher knife with the title of the scent and the company name and date surrounding the image.

Scent: 

  • ITI:  I get spicy men’s cologne from this – like heavy on the nutmeg with a pinch of smoky vetiver and perhaps a touch of verbena.  I realize that none of these notes reflect the scent notes, but it’s heavily men’s cologne for me.
  • Wet: Still much the same, but I just realized this also smells a great deal like one of Aveda’s fire perfume oils.  I guess the blood is dragon’s blood resin, but it’s heavily spiced and I really done’t get gore or stone from the notes. 
  • Dry:  Still exotically spicy with a heavy “fire” tone to it.  I would love to smell this on my husband, but it would easily be wearable for a date-night.

Other Impressions: “It’s like rosemary and Chanel #5.  It’s rosemary and something, but definitely rosemary.  It’s feminine, but older.  I’d expect someone who is 45 and older to wear this.”  -Tony

