Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Scent Name: The Worm Shall Revive Thee with Kisses

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab –  Lupercalia 2013: Our Lady of Pain (2/14/13-4/01/13)

Scent Description and Notes: But the worm shall revive thee with kisses;
Thou shalt change and transmute as a god,
As the rod to a serpent that hisses,
As the serpent again to a rod.
Thy life shall not cease though thou doff it;
Thou shalt live until evil be slain,
And good shall die first, said thy prophet,
Our Lady of Pain.

Bourbon vetiver, oakmoss, and pomegranate.” -BPAL

Oil Color: A ruddied resinous brown.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz). This is a decant from Absinthetics.  On the back, she has the notes of the scent, the title of the scent in orange, the company acronym in bold, and her decanting information. The image on the front label is a detailed ink drawing of what reminds me of Mary, but multiple swords seem to be driven into her heard while he prays, adorned in gorgeously detailed vestments.  Above her head and crown, a black flame hovers.

Scent: 

  • ITI:  It’s a bit more earthy than I had expected, which I think is the combination of the vetiver and the oakmoss.  There is some sharp artificiality from the pomegranate the second after I smell the earthiness.
  • Wet: Slightly soapy pomegranate and smoky vetiver bourbon.  I’m not getting much oakmoss on my skin at this point.  
  • Dry: After some time, I get mostly powdery vetiver and just an impression of artificial pomegranate.  This is a pass for me. 

Other Impressions: “All I can smell is powder.” -Tony

