Tags

, , , ,

Scent Name: Darkness

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab –  Ars Moriendi

Scent Description and Notes: The waves were dead; the tides were in their grave,
The moon, their mistress, had expir’d before;
The winds were wither’d in the stagnant air,
And the clouds perish’d; Darkness had no need
Of aid from them — She was the Universe.

Bottled gloom; the essence of oblivion. Blackest opium and narcissus deepened by myrrh. -BPAL

Oil Color: A warm, hay-like yellow.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz).  The label wrapped around the bottle features an Art-Deco inspired phoenix with name of the company next to the phoenix. On the other side, the title of the scent written in large, clear black font outlined with red on the front.

Scent: 

  • ITI: Super sweet, almost foody.  It’s like myrrh, cherry syrup, and hairspray.  It certainly is dark, but I’m confused by the sweetness.
  • Wet: When I first put the scent on my wrist, I was struck by how sweet it was.  I was hoping it would shift on my skin – more floral or otherwise.
  • Dry:  After it dries, the sweetness dissipates some.  I can finally pick out the narcissus and myrrh, which is nice, but a little cold. 

Other Impressions: None.

