Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m honestly shocked that I’ve never reviewed this scent.  It is my absolute favorite.  In fact, I have two bottles sitting on my desk, one in storage, and one in my travel carry-on bag. This was the first BPAL scent with which I fell in love.  I wore it nearly every day until I started on a scent a day project.

Scent Name:  Velvet Cthulhu

Manufacturer:  Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab –   The Salon April Fool’s Exhibit (4/1/09-6/1/09): Velvet Paintings

Scent Description and Notes: Wasabi, pu-erh and Touareg teas, green cedar, myrrh, white sage, khus, frankincense, and coriander – BPAL

Oil Color: – (Cannot tell in brown apothecary bottles)

Bottle Design and Artwork:  This is a standard 5ml brown apothecary bottle.  The label extends just under halfway around the bottom.  The label features the name of the company and the date in small white font, while the name of the scent is in large white block font off-centered to the right along the bottom of the label.   The label art is of Cthulhu painted on velvet.

Scent:

  • In the Bottle (ITB): Lovely pu-erh + wasabi at the same time. It is followed by white sage with frankincense to warm it up.
  • Wet: Minty sage with a dollop of wasabi underneath, but in just a few seconds, the cedar comes in while the tea has slunk into the very background. It’s a lovely green scent and reminds me a little bit of Lush’s Jungle conditioner.
  • Dry:  Sage+ frankincense, wasabi spicing it up, ceder tempered by myrrh and a faint tea as secondary. Yum!
Other Impressions: “It smells like a Thai herb delivery.  Actually, it smells like the soup you had yesterday, minus the meat.  Yeah, it’s Thai herbs.  It’s nice.” -Tony
