Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Scent Name: Wake

Manufacturer:  Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab –  The Land of Dreams: 3/6/12 – 5/8/12

Scent Description and Notes: “I stand amid the roar
Of a surf-tormented shore,
And I hold within my hand
Grains of the golden sand—
How few! yet how they creep
Through my fingers to the deep,
While I weep—while I weep!
O God! can I not grasp
Them with a tighter clasp?
O God! can I not save
One from the pitiless wave?
Is all that we see or seem
But a dream within a dream?

Pink grapefruit, peppermint, orange blossom, bitter orange, juniper berry, cumin, tuberose, and lemon balm. – BPAL

Oil Color: – (Cannot tell in brown apothecary bottles)

Bottle Design and Artwork:  This is a 5ml standard brown apothecary bottle.  The label extends just under halfway around the bottom.  The label features the name of the company along with collection in white block font in a black field bordering the image.  The image itself is of a compass point (north) and part of a compass, but one that is sketched rather than a single line.  The name of the scent is in black block font right at the East compass point.

Image from scentbase and www.blackphoenixalchemylab.com

Image from scentbase and http://www.blackphoenixalchemylab.com

Scent:

  • ITB: IT’s herbal and bright from the citrus.  I can pick out the grapefruit, bitter orange, peppermint, and cumin, which smells really good together with the citrus notes.
  • Wet:  The peppermint is a bit stronger on the skin, but it still does not overpower the bitter orange and pink grapefruit.  As it starts to dry, the lemon becomes apparent as does the juniper berry, but only slightly slow.  It does make me feel more invigorated, which is problematic as I’m testing this around my bedtime.
  • Dry: The citrus is more muddled here, but it is still pleasing and bright.  I can pick out just a hint tuberose, like someone wearing that perfume who had walked past you 5 minutes ago. There’s a little dustiness from the cumin as well and a hint of green astringency from the peppermint.  I will be trying this one in the morning as well to see if it perks me up.
Other Impressions: None.
