Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve decided to review all the remaining 13’s that I have.  This way, I have a basis of comparison when reviewing each.

Scent Name:  Thirteen (13)

Manufacturer:  Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab –  July 2012 7/12/12–7/15/12

Scent Description and Notes: “This 13 was created by Brian Constantine. Voluptuous and somber: a Thirteen created as a reflection on the capricious nature of Tyche – bittersweet cacao and dragon’s blood resin sweetened by honey and vanilla bean, brightened by saffron, and touched by the contemplative depths of oak leaf, solemn opoponax, frankincense, myrrh, black amber, hiba wood, aged patchouli, burgundy pitch, and Balm of Gilead. -BPAL

Oil Color: – I cannot tell the color of the oil by looking into the brown apothecary bottle.

Bottle Design and Artwork:  This is a 5ml standard brown apothecary bottle.  The label extends just under halfway around the bottom.  The label features the name of the company along the bottom in a parchment colored block font set against a black field.  The name of the scent is situated in much larger white stylized block font along the right.  The image itself is of Tyche spinning her wheel of fate.

Image from prettysniffies.tumblr.com

Image from prettysniffies.tumblr.com

Scent:

  • ITB:  The full force of the cacao assaults my nose.  I’m having trouble getting past this on my initial sniff. After I spend some time, I can tease out the patchouli and the vanilla bean, but the cacao is rather intense.
  • Wet:  Ah, here we go.  Cacao, honey, vanilla, something that comes off as floral, and opoponax.
  • Dry:  Now it’s like fiery, resinous cacao from the dragon’s blood.  I can still pick up the vanilla, but now there is some saffron, frankincense, myrrh, and amber.  It’s delicious!
Other Impressions: As someone who isn’t a foody person as all, this scent is a huge win.  I’m so happy I bought a bottle of it.
