Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I remember wanting to try this one because of the white grapefruit and rice wine notes.  Let’s hope lotus doesn’t turn it into a bubblegum party.

Scent Name: Tanuki No Yudachi

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – Pon Poko Pon No Pon, 4/04/12 – 6//30/12

Scent Description and Notes: “Seeking shelter from an evening rainstorm.  Lilium speciosum, rice wine, white grapefruit, lotus root, bourbon vanilla, and vanilla orchid.” -BPAL

Oil Color: I cannot tell from the brown apothecary bottle.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a 5ml standard brown apothecary bottle.  The label extends just under halfway around the bottom.  The label features the name of the company in large black font along the bottom of the image while the scent name is white block font outlined in block along the top, centered to the left.   The image is of tanuki using their personal resources to take shelter from the rain.

Scent: 

  • ITB: It’s soft and gentle like the rain, but I can also pick up on the playful rice wine and bourbon vanilla notes.
  • Wet:  Grapefruit, rice wine, and subtle vanilla orchid make this a delightfully playful choice.  This does remind me a bit of my beloved Fresh’s Sake scent from the Memories of a Geisha collection.  It figures that this one would be limited edition as well.
  • Dry: Rice wine and grapefruit, primarily.  It’s wonderful and I’m pleased to have found something with a rice wine note that works so well on my skin.

Other Impressions: “I don’t know.  It’s good, but I can’t pick out any one scent.  It’s interesting.” -Tony

