Tags

, , , , , ,

Scent Name: Champagne and Absinthe

Manufacturer:  Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab –  Event Exclusive: West Coast Will Call exclusive, Yule Will Call 2010

Scent Description and Notes: “No description given. – BPAL

Oil Color: – I cannot tell the color of the oil by looking into the brown apothecary bottle.

Bottle Design and Artwork:  This is a 5ml standard brown apothecary bottle.  The label extends just under halfway around the bottom.  The label features the name of the company along the bottom in small white block font outlined in green along with the collection in even smaller font above it.  The same for the scent, which is in a cursive, Italic white font across an image of a green absinthe-champagne with bubbles.

Image from ebay.

Image from ebay.

Scent:

  • ITB:  The champagne actually smells like a good quality ginger ale on first sniff. Behind it, lemon and a dash of licorice quickly come to the forefront. The longer and deeper I smell it, the more I’m able to tell that it is champagne, but I don’t get it on a cursory whiff.
  • Wet: The absinthe comes out strong on my skin while wet, although I’m still getting a lemony note.
  • Dry:  While it begins to dry, I can distinguish the champagne, but the lovely scent of licorice seems to be fading a little. I still get lemon for some reason, but not as strong. It’s a very subtle combination of notes overall. Once completely dried, the champagne is very evident, which is melding beautifully with some of the absinthe notes, although I still get some lemon in there too.
Other Impressions: Overall, this is a beautifully subtle scent that I might wear any time I want to feel effervescent or to brighten the cold days of winter.
