Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

As someone who adores all things Japanese, this was a must for me, even before I knew what notes I really enjoyed.  As I set up this entry, I’m pretty jazzed to see mint, licorice, sandalwood, and orange in here.

Scent Name: J-Horror

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab –  Dark Delicacies: Retail Exclusive, Summer Blockbuster

Scent Description and Notes: “Japanese horror films are tense, elliptical, psychologically chilling experiences, most often inspired by Japanese folklore and Kaidan, or supernatural tales, and are woven tightly with themes of retribution and vengeance. Examples: Ringu, Jigoku, Ugetsu, The Ghost Story of Yotsuya.

This scent is spectral, draped in funeral white, and surges with otherworldly, malevolent rage: stargazer lily, white sandalwood, chrysanthemum, and shincha, with white mint, eucalyptus, licorice bark, and blood orange. -BPAL

Oil Color:  I cannot tell from the brown apothecary bottle.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard 5ml brown apothecary bottle. The label features an eerie straight-jacketed Japanese specter in grays and light mints and black.  The image is surrounded by black text fields on the top and the bottom that feature the name of the company, collection, and title in white block font.

Image from Dark Delicacies.

Image from Dark Delicacies.

Scent: 

  • ITB:  It’s pretty and odd at the same time – blood orange, sandalwood, mint, and something that faintly reminds me of feet.
  • Wet: Blood orange, mint, and a touch of licorice bark with something else.  It smells a bit grainy, just like some of the J-horror movies.
  • Dry: I remember thinking that whatever I had on was really clean and floral earlier in the day, which struck me as odd ever time because I then remembered what I had applied this morning.  Now, it’s faint, fruity, with tones of lily and super faint sandalwood.  It’s gorgeous, honestly. 

Other Impressions: None.

