Tags

, , , , , ,

Scent Name:  Nigredo V7

Manufacturer: Black Phoneix Alchemy Lab – Prototype: Clearing Out the Cobwebs 2: Dark Delicacies Trunk Show

Scent Description and Notes: None provided

Oil Color: I cannot tell the oil color through the dark brown apothecary bottle.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard 5ml brown apothecary bottle.  The label extends just under halfway around the bottom.  The scent name is in black handwritten type font written on what looks like a lined paper background.  The word “prototype” is in a black version of the font, which is right above the name of the company in the same font.

Image from BPAL Friends on Flickr.

Image from BPAL Friends on Flickr.

Scent: 

  • ITI: It’s an interesting smoky, resinous blend. It reminds me of the lab’s vetiver and its fire/smoke notes.  I think there might be some galbanum in here along with something that is just the tiniest bit green, like menthol.
  • Wet:   Oh yeah, that’s vetiver with camphor and some kind o f resinous wood underneath, perhaps myrrh, but it is not as sweet as I would normally anticipate it to be.  
  • Dry:  There is  a slightly sweet spiciness to the scent as it dries, as if there were a supple brown leather note rubbed  with all spice, infused with vetiver and camphor or cedar. 

Other Impressions: The main problem I had with this one was that the scent was strong that I started getting a headache from the intense scent even with my hand extended as far away from me as possible.  “It smells like tobacco, leather, and spices…mulling spices.” -Tony

