Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Scent Name: Waraizome

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – First Laughter of 2012 – Limited Edition:  12/30/11-2/10/12

Scent Description and Notes: “BPAL’s First Laughter of 2012 is inspired by an image of Tanuki merchants honoring the first transaction of the year by thumping a huge testicle taiko! This is an airy, cheerful prosperity-themed scent talisman that celebrates the creation of wealth through joy, creativity, kindness, honesty, and community:

German chamomile, red sandalwood, oakmoss, sassafras, verbena, and aniseseed. -BPAL

Oil Color: I cannot tell from the brown apothecary bottle.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a 5ml standard brown apothecary bottle.  The label extends just under halfway around the bottom.  The label features the name of the scent name in in burnt orange font outlined in black along the top of the image.    The name of the collection along with the company name are in similar fonts along the bottom.  The image is of an ornately dressed Lord Teishin looking one way while a red demon peaks at him through the screen/curtain.

Image from Scentbase.

Image from Scentbase.

Scent: 

  • ITB:  It reminds me of a nice men’s cologne (verbena and oakmoss) with a bit of woody spiciness to it.
  • Wet:  I get verbena paired with an interesting green smokiness from the oakmoss.  There is also a slightly effervescent note, which might be the sassafras and the anise seed.  It’s an interesting scent, slightly reminiscent of the Hell of Great Heat, but much better.
  • Dry:  The throw is great with this one.  I keep getting whiffs of verbena and sandalwood each time I move my wrist and it is absolutely lovely.  While it does skew more masculine to my nose, I still would wear this more frequently, especially once I finish testing all my untested scents.

Other Impressions: “It’s like citronella oil…and something in the background.  Like citronella and powder, maybe?”  -Tony

