Tags

, , , , , , ,

Scent Name: Gacela of the Dark Death

Manufacturer:  Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab –  Yule 2009

Scent Description and Notes: “GACELA OF THE DARK DEATH
I want to sleep the sleep of the apples,
I want to get far away from the busyness of the cemeteries.
I want to sleep the sleep of that child
who longed to cut his heart open far out at sea.

I don’t want them to tell me again how the corpse keeps all its blood,
how the decaying mouth goes on begging for water.
I’d rather not hear about the torture sessions the grass arranges for
nor about how the moon does all its work before dawn
with its snakelike nose.

I want to sleep for half a second,
a second, a minute, a century,
but I want everyone to know that I am still alive,
that I have a golden manger inside my lips,
that I am the little friend of the west wind,
that I am the elephantine shadow of my own tears.

When it’s dawn just throw some sort of cloth over me
because I know dawn will toss fistfuls of ants at me,
and pour a little hard water over my shoes
so that the scorpion claws of the dawn will slip off.

Because I want to sleep the sleep of the apples,
and learn a mournful song that will clean all earth away from me,
because I want to live with that shadowy child
who longed to cut his heart open far out at sea.

Terebinth pine, pitch, and clove. -BPAL

Oil Color: – I cannot tell the color of the oil by looking into the brown apothecary bottle.

Bottle Design and Artwork:  This is a 5ml standard brown apothecary bottle.  The label extends just under halfway around the bottom. The label features the name of the company in a hay-colored block font set against a burgundy text field.  Above that and above the image are black text fields that display the name of the scent and collection title in think white block font.  The background of the image is a holiday red.  The image itself is of a demon with a pitchfork riding what looks like a broom adorned with a long bow.

Image created by ascentaday.wordpress.com.

Image created by ascentaday.wordpress.com.

Scent:

  • ITB:  Heavy, heavy pitch and a background of pine.  It’s a bit strong for me right now, and I generally like pine or woody-type scents.
  • Wet: It was more pine and pitch once I put it on my skin.  I was a bit sad that the clove didn’t come through.
  • Dry:  Lo and behold – clove!  It’s a colder scent due to the pine and pitch, but I think I like it much better now that it’s had a chance to settle.
Other Impressions: None.
