Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Well, it’s hard to believe that today starts another year.  My New Year’s Resolution remains the same.  Finish reviewing all of my perfume, designer and independent. I have a handful of BPAL bottles left, about a box of imps, and then on to the likes of Vera Wang and Fresh.

Scent Name: Elegy No. 1 S. 196

Manufacturer:  Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab –  Miskatonic Valley Philharmonic: Obsidentur Mortem

Scent Description and Notes: “White sandalwood, bergamot, white musk, and ambergris. -BPAL

Oil Color: – I cannot tell the color of the oil by looking into the brown apothecary bottle.

Bottle Design and Artwork:  This is a 5ml standard brown apothecary bottle.  The label extends just under halfway around the bottom. The label features the name of the company and collection information in white thin block fonts set against black text fields above and below the image of the musical instrument (a stylized one with serpent-looking heads in black).  The title of the scent is in red, thick shadowed font.  All of this is set against a modeled brown and tarnished gold background.

Scent:

  • ITB:  My initial impression is that the scent runs on the perfume-y side in terms of powderiness.  I do detect the slightest hint of ambergris behind it, which I hope develops as I adore that note.
  • Wet:   It’s pleasantly perfumy and powdery from the white sandalwood and musk. Bergamot shows up underneath lending depth to the scent along with very, very faint ambergris. It’s beautifully light and evocative.
  • Dry:  After a number of hours, it’s light, but I can still pick up the white sandalwood (slightly powdery, but pleasantly so) and a touch of the bergamot.
Other Impressions: None.
