Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Scent Name: Avenger

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – Grendel

Scent Description and Notes: “AVENGER
A fashionable and fiery journalist who adopts the Grendel persona to avenge the death of her only child and is consumed by the dark identity.

Plush vanilla bourbon and rum accord with pink pepper, patchouli, clove, pikaki, golden amber, caraway, tuberose, and jacarandá-da-bahia.
 -BPAL

Pikaki is an evergreen jasmine often used in leis.  It’s also known as sampaguita.

Jacarandá-da-bahia is Bahia or Brazillian rosewood.

Oil Color: I cannot tell from the brown apothecary bottle.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a 5ml standard brown apothecary bottle.  The label extends just under halfway around the bottom.  The label features the name of the company and the scent name in white block font outlined in red.  The collection name is in Deco-stylized grey font outlined in blood-red.  The label looks like below:

 

Scent: 

  • ITB:  It strikes me as slightly masculine on first sniff from the bourbon vanilla, I think. There’s also a note that’s a bit disquieting underneath the bourbon vanilla, but I’m not sure what it is yet.
  • Wet:  Ah, it’s it pikaki that I’m not responding well too, which is a top note on my skin. I remember it from the sampaguita single note that came out a couple of months ago.  Under that, I can pick up the pink pepper, some tuberose, and the bourbon.  Overall, it’s a bit too strongly white floral for me.   
  • Dry: It’s pikaki (jasmine) and faint amber,but the jasmine completely overpowers anything else.  Sadly, in the swap pile this one goes. 

Other Impressions: “It’s alright.  It’s like powder and some flowery smell I can’t quite place.” -Tony

