Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Scent Name: Leather Phoenix

Manufacturer:  Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab –  BPAL Anniversary 2011

Scent Description and Notes: “In 2005, I was messing around with some of our rarer oils while creating a blend for personal use. It contained a small bit of wardh taifi, some 22-year old oudh, golden champaca CO2, and narcissus absolute. It was a strange and lovely creation, and jokingly, I called it Leather Phoenix. “Ha ha! Leather Phoenix. BDSM Phoenix. Wouldn’t it be awesome if we actually saw our leather anniversary?” Lord, it seemed so far away.

Holy shit, here we are. (ZOMGWTF?!)

And here’s Leather Phoenix: matcha tea, wild frankincense, champaca, petitgrain, star anise, aged oudh, rose taifi, narcissus, Himalayan cedar, 11-year aged patchouli, and black leather accord. -BPAL

Oil Color: – I cannot tell the color of the oil by looking into the brown apothecary bottle.

Bottle Design and Artwork:  This is a 5ml standard brown apothecary bottle.  The label extends just under halfway around the bottom. The image is a picture of a woman sitting against large pillows with a whip in her lap.  The top border contains the name of the scent in white block font, while the bottom of the image, just above the border, has the name of the company and the collection in smaller white block font.

Scent:

  • ITB:  Strong black leather and very old, earthy patchouli. Interesting.
  • Wet:  It’s black leather, patchouli, cedar, and champaca, but it’s rather cologne-y. I was hoping more of the resins and tea would come out, but not yet.
  • Dry:  I tried this one and failed to write down my impressions. Leather, rose, cedar, and something of which I’m not fond. The note was unsettling once I applied it and I kept wondering if there was one my doom notes in here despite the really masculine black leather. Sure enough, there’s petitgrain and I know now why I really dislike Leather Phoenix despite really, really wanting to love it.
Other Impressions: “Oh, you smell good.” -Diane
