Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I bought this one because it has ambergris in it, one of my favorite notes.  The presence of some of the really strong florals, however, worries me.

Scent Name: Black Butterfly Moon

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab –  A Little Lunacy 2013

Scent Description and Notes:BLACK BUTTERFLY MOON

Sister of the first-born light,

Type of sorrowing gentleness!

Quivering mists in silv’ry dress
Float around thy features bright;
When thy gentle foot is heard,

From the day-closed caverns then

Wake the mournful ghosts of men,
I, too, wake, and each night-bird.

O’er a field of boundless span

Looks thy gaze both far and wide.

Raise me upwards to thy side!
Grant this to a raving man!
And to heights of rapture raised,

Let the knight so crafty peep

At his maiden while asleep,
Through her lattice-window glazed.

Soon the bliss of this sweet view,

Pangs by distance caused allays;

And I gather all thy rays,
And my look I sharpen too.
Round her unveil’d limbs I see

Brighter still become the glow,

And she draws me down below,
As Endymion once drew thee.

Soft, deep, and luminous: Lady of the Night orchid, benzoin, opopponax, currant, black chypre, white gardenia, ambergris, damp, wooded mosses, and black lily.
-BPAL

Oil Color:  A honeyed copper color.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz). This is a decant from Absinthetics.  On the back, she has the notes of the scent, the title of the scent in orange, the company acronym in bold, and her decanting information in green. The front of the label has the same image that appeared on the bottle’s label (below).

Image from healthylivingmarket.com

Image from healthylivingmarket.com

Scent: 

  • ITI:  It’s lily fragrant orchids, lilies, and almond pastries with a hint of resin from the benzoin.  Strange.
  • Wet: The warm pastry note I picked up early is the ambergris paired with the gardenia, which I can now discern specifically because the notes become individually more distinct on skin. I also pick up on a touch of moss, lily, orchid, and resin, although all are much more subtle than the ambergris and gardenia. 
  • Dry: It’s still soft and faintly sweet, but the notes are not distinguishable after 12 hours.

Other Impressions: None.

