Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Scent Name:  O Love and Time and Sin

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – Lupercalia 2014: A Ballad of Death

Scent Description and Notes:Love and Time and Sin: red rose, Saturnian opoponax, and red musk. -BPAL

Oil Color: A gorgeous deep mahogany color.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz). This is a decant from Absinthetics.  On the back, she has the notes of the scent, the title of the scent in orange, the company acronym in bold, and her decanting information in green. The front of the label looks exactly as it does below.

Scent: 

  • ITI:  Wow, that’s strong.  The opoponax reminds me of benzoin, along with a candied red musk on top of barely perceptible rose.  Hmm.  I’m usually a huge resin fan, but I’m not sure about this one.
  • Wet: Wow, I’m having a hard time smelling anything other than the opoponax and red musk.  I think there might be rose in there, but the resins are so strong that I’m having trouble getting anything more than an impression. As it stands, the resin overpowers any complexity the rose might have offered.
  • Dry:  For the first several hours, all I can think of is that it smells like opoponax, powder (red musk) and cat pee.  Finally, after 5 hours, it smells more like red rose  and musk with a touch of resin.  However, I’m not sure I’m willing to wait that long for it to develop. 

Other Impressions: None.

