Tags

, , , ,

Scent Name:  Hurricane

Manufacturer:  Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – Bewitching Brews, discontinued 3/18/14

Scent Description and Notes: The Dark Side of Air: a high pitched, tangy, clear scent — light China rain deepened by murky vetivert. – BPAL

Oil Color:  A yellowed honey color.

Bottle Design and Artwork:  This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz).  The label wrapped around the bottle features an Art-Deco inspired phoenix with the name of the company next to the phoenix. On the other side, the title of the scent written in large, clear black font outlined with red on the front.

Scent:

  • ITI: First off, I’ve never really smelled China Rain, so I’m not exactly sure what to expect. Interesting.  On first sniff, I get something that is pleasantry aquatic and musky, which is rivaled by a deep, smoky note, like smoked wood chips right before a barbecue.
  • Wet:  The vetivert’s smokiness her really is lovely, and paired with the musky, dark aquatic, it does invoke something like an ominous storm.  Usually, I’m not a fan of aquatics, but this is nice.
  • Dry:  It fades fairly quickly to a light, slightly smoky, mysterious aquatic musk, which is still rather pleasant.
Other Impressions: I’m not sure if it was the scent, but I had three different people ask if I did something to may hair.  While I’m not sure if it is connected, these are people I see every day and nothing was different.
