Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m going to go back to designer scents for a little bit, especially since it will help clear off my desk.  For this particular scent, I received it as a gift years ago.  I remember absolutely adoring it, especially because it was unlike anything I had every smelled before, and thus my love of exotic, complex notes was born.  The bottle I’m testing today is the same bottle I received all those years ago, now with just enough for one last test left.

Scent Name:  Memoirs of a Geisha

Manufacturer:  Fresh

Scent Description and Notes: Memoirs of a Geisha is a limited edition perfume from 2005. It contains notes of jasmine, rose, sparkling langsat fruit, white peach, bergamot, mandarin, iris, musk and sandalwood. Available as 75 ml EDP.”     -http://www.fragrantica.com/perfume/Fresh/Memoirs-of-a-Geisha-9838.html 

Perfume Oil Color:  Clear.

Bottle Design and Artwork:  The is a small bottle with an oval rouge-colored label featuring the company name in white at the top, the name of the scent in smaller black block font below that, the phrase in lower-case italics “inspired by the film” underneath, and the type of scent designation in slightly larger, normal lower-case font just above the image.  The image is over sakura on a branch with a bird perched on the end.  The bottom of the label as the company name in black and the storage temp.  The side has the bottle size, which is 1.5ml.

Image from fragrantica.

Image from fragrantica.

Scent:

  • ITB: The langsat fruit with the jasmine and iris is interesting, especially under the musk.
  • Wet:  What I like about this most is that it does seem to have a sparkling or effervescent quality to it, and when muddled with the fruit (ripe peach and langsat), the musky resin, and the rose/iris, the scent turns into something I consider classic, fresh, and pleasing.
  • Dry:  It’s gentle peach, langsat fruit, and just a touch of soft musk.  It’s pretty without being too girly or fruity.
Other Impressions: This was a scent of which I absolutely had to have more.  I searched high and low until I realized that it was specifically designed for the Memoirs of a Geisha set.  Fortunately, I recently found a very large bottle, which I’m rationing out in between testing other perfumes.
