Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Scent Name: Shelly, Byron, and Keats

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – Only Lovers Left Alive: Story Points

Scent Description and Notes: “Uncompromising idealism, haunted romanticism, fatal ennui, and a heady amount of scandal and vice: red roses and pale carnation with a draught of laudanum, smears of opium tar, a hint of absinthe, and mercury ointment. -http://blackphoenixalchemylab.com/product-category/only-lovers-left-alive/

Oil Color: A light vino verde color.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz). This is a decant from ralenth.  On the back, she has the notes of the scent, the side features her decanting information, and the front features the company acronym, the title of the scent, the collection, and the date, along with a scent-appropriate image.  The label art for the bottle is below:

Scent: 

  • ITI:  It’s a bit off-putting.  For some reason, it pings the some receptors for me as acetone and permanent marker, but paired with faint rose and lazy laudanum.  I’m not sure if it’s the mercury that does it, but I’m taking a wait and see approach with this scent.
  • Wet:  Okay, I still get a bit of that acetone/marker impression, but the laudanum is stronger, the opium emerges, strong and heady along side the brilliant carnation and noble rose, but there’s also the sense of a medicine cream, like Silvadene, which is oddly comforting to me as I’ve had more than a few share of singificant burns in my life.  Strange.  I’m not sure how I feel about this one still.
  • Dry: As it was drying, I remember thinking that I must smell really…odd…to my co-workers at the conference.  I kept picking up distinct laudanum, mercury, and opium notes for hours after application.  It certainly does remind me of highly educated, philosophical ennui.

Other Impressions: None.

