Tags

, , , , , ,

Name:   The Red Rider

Manufacturer:  Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – Marchen

Scent Description and Notes: She went a little further and again she heard the sound of a horse’s hoofs and there came another man on horseback galloping past her. He was dressed all in red, and the horse under him was blood-red and its harness was red, and just as he passed her the sun rose.

Red leather, red moss, and balsam. – www.blackphoenixalchemylab.com

Oil Color:  A nice tawny apricot oil.

Bottle Design and Artwork:  This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz).  The label wrapped around the bottle features an Art-Deco inspired phoenix with the name of the company next to the phoenix. On the other side, the title of the scent written in large, clear black font outlined with red on the front.

Scent:

  • ITI:  Stiff red leather that reminds me of riding tack, balsam wood, and a touch of damp green.
  • Wet:  The balsam and moss are a bit sweeter on my skin, but not by much.  The leather still has that quality of stiffness about it that reminds me so clearly of riding tact.  It just feels like the scent needs an incense or resin note to soften it up a bit.
  • Dry: Unfortunately, it simply dries down into a stiff red leather and balsam on me. It just needs a bit more complexity.
Other Impressions: I’ve tested this one a few times, and each time, I’ve felt the need to layer it with something else to tone the leather down some and add more incense or other elements.  I think I favor both The White and The Black Riders more than Red.
