Tags

, , , , , ,

Name:   Greed

Manufacturer:  Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – Sin and Salvation: The Seven Deadly Sins

Scent Description and Notes: Base and earthy, yet glittering with golden notes: patchouli, heliotrope, copal and oakmoss. – bpal.org

Oil Color: Oil the color of spiced rum.

Bottle Design and Artwork:  This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz).  The label wrapped around the bottle features an Art-Deco inspired phoenix with the name of the company next to the phoenix. On the other side, the title of the scent written in large, clear black font outlined with red on the front.

Scent:

  • ITI: I’m not sure whether or not I should be bothered that my first impression is that I find the scent comforting.  I really like that the patchouli is a subtle, earthy version, the oakmoss isn’t too green, the heliotrope isn’t too brashly floral, and the copal just offers a lovely, balanced, slightly resinous blend reminiscent of “Our Hearts Condemn Us” from the Only Lovers Left Alive release.
  • Wet:  It’s a touch sweeter and almost woody on my skin, but the wood is like  a combination of balsam, aged cedar, and a more toned-down version of teak.  The copal note in this scent is a real winner, as I believe it is what is reading as woody above the patchouli, oakmoss, and heliotrope (which now has a honeyed tone to it). Gorgeous scent so far!
  • Dry: It mellows down a bit once dry, but it’s still a lovely blend – golden, harmonious, woody, resinous, earthy, and inviting.  I want a bottle of it!
Other Impressions:  None.
