Tags

, , , ,

Name:   Wicked

Manufacturer:  Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – Diabolus

Scent Description and Notes: “A paean to all the Wicked Queens, Evil Stepmothers, and other misunderstood villainesses throughout history and lore. Lends an aura of majesty, refinement, strength, and a deep, brooding malice. A sophisticated, womanly scent: rich myrrh and jasmine draped in the subtlest rose. – bpal.org

Oil Color: A nice spiced rum color.

Bottle Design and Artwork:  This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz).  The label wrapped around the bottle features an Art-Deco inspired phoenix with the name of the company next to the phoenix. On the other side, the title of the scent written in large, clear black font outlined with red on the front.

Scent:

  • ITI:  Imperious jasmine, burgundy rose, and dark myrrh notes swirl around in the imp like some kind of magnificent concoction geared for evil dames.  I like it in the imp, but I’m not sure how well it will behave on my skin.  Jasmine, I’m watching you.
  • Wet:  The jasmine is more of a jasmine I’d associate with a sambac once on my skin.  The myrrh and rose are both dark enough to offset with bombastic nature of jasmine, but I’d have to say that the myrrh – earthy, threatening, and faintly masculine – is what really makes the scent with the sweeter florals.
  • Dry:  As it dries down, Wicked does start to go a bit soapy on me thanks to the jasmine note.  The rose shrinks back, which is too bad because the rose note is a really lovely, maturely dark but soft note.  After about an hour, the jasmine calms down and the rose and myrrh take their stand – both a bit dusky and slightly aged, but alluringly feminine nonetheless.  I’m much more of a fan once dry.
Other Impressions:  None.
