Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Scent Name: Red-Spotted Purple

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – Metamorphosis 2014: Butterflies of Louisiana

Scent Description and Notes: “White thyme, yuzu fruit, hinoki wood, blue cedar, white carnation, plum rind, white mandarin, and lime-tinted white musk. -bpal.org

Oil Color: An energy drink yellow.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz). This is a decant from Absinthetics.  On the back, she has the notes of the scent, the name of the scent in orange bold font, and her decanting information in green.  The font of the label features the sample label art as the bottle.

Scent: 

  • ITI: Oh, this one is fabulous!  The yuzu is bright, sweet, and delightful paired with the plum and lime.  Oh my gosh, I’m starting to panic just a tad that I may have missed out on something incredibly special.
  • Wet: The yuzu and mandarin are just incredibly succulent on my skin while the lime and plum provide a delightful fruity balance to the bright, sparkly, light citrus (lime reads as fuller and darker to me, something that is even a bit savory at times).  I”m also picking up wafts of spicy carnation and a blueish musk, although no cedar.  This is a stand-out scent so far.
  • Dry:  A winner still!  Plum peel, mandarin, yuzu, carnation, a gossamer musk, and a faint white thyme.  I’m rather miffed that I did not  test this earlier as I would have bought a bottle.

Other Impressions: This scent received notice from two individuals, the one seated next to me who immediately asked if it was BPAL and demanded to smell it. He thought it was fantastic as it was light, complex, and unusual.  The second noticed from across the room and commented that it smells much better on skin than it does when I opened the imp.

