Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Scent Name:  Comparisons of Celebrated Beauties

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – Lupercalia 2015: Shunga

Scent Description and Notes: “Vanilla cream, mimosa, and almond blossom.”  –bpal.org

Oil Color: A goldenrod oil.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz). This is a decant from Absinthetics.  On the back, she has the notes of the scent, the name of the scent in orange bold font, and her decanting information in green.  The font of the label features the same label art as the bottle, which is a shunga print of three women in kimono gathered around a scroll and a mirror.

Scent: 

  • ITI: I get vanilla cream, that smells almost like marzipan to me (a note I loathe) when paired with the almond blossom. The mimosa is there, but it isn’t as strong or as vibrant as I’d like.  It’s like the impression of a mimosa smothered in creamy pastries.
  • Wet: I’m a bit disappointed, honestly. The scent is  sickly sweet initially, almost like children’s medicine. I think it might be the mimosa paired with the clear almond blossom and ooey, gooey vanilla.  I hope it mellows out.
  • Dry:  The vanilla goo note and almond marzipan-tinged note are still present over the faint mimosa some 6 hours later.  Sadly, it’s just too cloying for my taste.

Other Impressions: None.

