Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Scent Name: Shantell

Manufacturer: The Morbid The Merrier – Odditoria

Scent Description and Notes: “Pikake, amber, cedar, pink and black pepper, wood, moss.” -http://eyelinerandspraypaint.blogspot.com/2011/09/morbid-merrier-review.html

Oil Color: A dark resin color.  It’s like mahogany without the red tones.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz). This is a sample directly from the company.  The label looks like aged parchment in color and texture.  The name of the company, which is placed horizontally down the label, is in fancy Calligraphy script with the M’s emphasized in weight.  The name of the scent is simply written in black felt-tip pen.

Scent: 

  • ITI:  When I first tried this one, I had tried looking for the notes, but I just couldn’t find anything since the company has since disappeared.  I knew there was a sugar note in there, but it was more a turbinado than a straight confectioner’s sugar. I also suspected there was a light wood note as well, not quite a teak, but something a bit more stately. It turns out it is a cedar, but it isn’t hit-you-over-the-head cedar, but  a lighter version, like pulling a soft sweater out of a wooden chest and smelling the cedar note lazily curl off the soft fibers.  As I go back, I think I can detect a citrus in there as well, although not orange (I’m trying not to look at the scent notes I just found). The citrus strikes me as something smaller, somewhat like a kumquat. It turns out that what I was reading as citrus, however, was just the combination of pikake, amber, and pink pepper.  It’s certainly is an interesting combination of notes.
  • Wet:  The other wood note is more pronounced here, but it reminds me of oak.  The cedar is still present, and swirls deliciously around the amber, jasmine, pepper, and rich moss.  I’m happy that note showed up.  It reminds me of the moss forests in Japan just outside of a wooden shrine with incense still smoldering.  Wow!
  • Fukusenji Temple in Tono, Japan. Image copyright Tiah Schindelheim Rodriguez, 2015

    Fukusenji Temple in Tono, Japan. Image copyright Tiah Schindelheim Rodriguez, 2015

  • Dry: Once dry, the scent skews more masculine since the moss, pepper, and wood notes persist while the amber softens everything only slightly.  I liked it when wet, but I think I’ll pass now that it has dried.

Other Impressions: None.

