Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Scent Name: Black Raven

Manufacturer: Nocturne Alchemy –

Scent Description and Notes: “A dark romantic perfume for the heart of the gracefully aphotic and romantic poem of The Raven.

Perfume of sweet Black Frankincense. Tendrils of Patchouli and Aged Black Musk. Wisps of Incense. Amber Musk. With a ghost kiss of White Fig essential oil. Black Sugar, Black Amber, Crimson Red Musk and Black Crystal.” -http://www.nocturnealchemy.com/nblrapc.html

Oil Color: I cannot tell since the imp bottle is amber in color, although the oil has a slightly copper tone on my skin.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz). The company has its website in lowercase black font along the bottom of the label just underneath a Vapothecary.  Above that is an image of an angry Jack O Lantern, and above tat is “sample” in larger, all caps font. The entire label is a cool silver color, the color of the silver label dots one might find at Office Max. The back of  the label displays the name of the scent in larger black capitalized font. Along the spine is the phrase “Perfume Vile” in an Arabic-inspired font in a rusty pink color.

Scent: 

  • ITI:  Hmm, browned sugar, fig, incense, heaps of musk and amber are most evident when I sniff the scent in the imp.  It makes my nose tingle, so that might be an indication of a note that won’t work on me.  We’ll see.
  • Wet: It’s sweet like Dimetapp on my skin, but the more I sniff it, the more I can work past the cloying notes to the incense and the patchouli.  The combination of sugars and musks, however, is a significant deterrent for me, though.
  • Dry:  After an hour, it’s still overly sugary with heavy globs of  black and red musk, doused with amber and incense.  The fig is nice in this blend, but the sugar just is too much for me. 

Other Impressions: None.

