Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Scent Name: Venustas

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – Lilith 2014

Scent Description and Notes: “Sometimes when I look at my daughter, I feel like I can see the woman that she’ll become someday. This is a perfume for that woman, forever my daughter: frankincense, sweet myrrh, bourbon vanilla, and a hint of willowy, pale fougere. 

Oil Color: Clear on my skin.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard brown apothecary bottle.  The label extends partway across the bottle. The artwork is a photograph of Lilith in a pink dress looking wistfully off to the side.  The name of the scent in in white bold upper case text on the upper left-hand corner.  The name of the collection is in violet in smaller font, but in violet.  Below that is the name of the company in smaller white font.

 

Scent: 

  • ITB: Greenish fougere and powdery frankincense with a touch of bourbon vanilla as a bottom note.
  • Wet: The fougere is certainly a strong top note, but I can’t help but think that instead of pale, it should be labeled as herb, like freshly muddled basil clothed in vetiver. The bourbon vanilla is much less prevalent now, but the myrrh note sweetly supports the much more dominant fougere.
  • Dry:  Long lasting and beautiful dry down to pale vanilla sunscreen, a hint of sweet myrrh, and a touch of lavender from the fougere.

Other Impressions: My girlfriend is obsessed with this scent.  She wants a bottle of her own.  It was scent love at first sniff.

