Tags

, , , , , , , ,

While updating may not be consistent, at least I found my imps despite the haze of construction.

Scent Name: Athens

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab –  Wanderlust

Scent Description and Notes: A reformulation and modernization of a true Classical Greek perfume, myrrhine: voluptuous myrrh, golden honey, red wine, and sweet flowers.” -https://blackphoenixalchemylab.com/shop/wanderlust/athens/

Oil Color:

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz).  The label wrapped around the bottle features an Art-Deco inspired phoenix with name of the company next to the phoenix. On the other side, the title of the scent written in large, clear black font outlined with red on the front.

Athens-300x233@2x

Image from  https://blackphoenixalchemylab.com/shop/wanderlust/athens/

Scent: 

  • ITI: Oh no, two death notes.  I’m really hoping I don’t get drunk urinal cake on my skin. Once I open the imp, I smell hot toddy (lemon, honey) and red wine that skews boozy too me.  Underneath all of that is a light floral, like honeysuckle.  It isn’t too bad, but not what I pictured or imagined for something with the name of Athens.  I was expecting something more grandiose.
  • Wet: Oddly enough, the red wine note is much less pronounced once applied to my skin. I still get the distinct impression of a hot toddy surrounded by light, sweet florals.
  • Dry: While the honey did turn ever so slightly, I was honestly impressed that the note still read as honey.  The myrrh did a great job in balancing the note, and the sweet florals made the scent feminine without being overbearing or overly girly.  Nice.

Other Impressions: None.

