Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I was running late yesterday, so I grabbed a random imp and put it on.  It happened to be Defututa.  All I could think of was that I now smelled like “urinal cakes and vanilla.” I knew there had to be honey, my death note, in this one.

Scent Name: Defututa

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab –  Ars Amatoria

Scent Description and Notes: Good Gods, what a night that was,
The bed was so soft, and how we clung,
Burning together, lying this way and that,
Our uncontrollable passions
Flowing through our mouths.
If I could only die that way,
I’d say goodbye to the business of living.

Olive blossom, honey, smoky vanilla, cinnamon, jasmine, sandalwood, and champaca flower.” -https://blackphoenixalchemylab.com/shop/ars-amatoria/defututa/

Oil Color: Orange blossom jam color.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard vial / imp size (1/32 oz).  The label wrapped around the bottle features an Art-Deco inspired phoenix with name of the company next to the phoenix. On the other side, the title of the scent written in large, clear black font outlined with red on the front.

Scent: 

  • ITI: Sickly sweet, almost chemically honey, strong jasmine, and a healthy does of vanilla-scented bathroom deodorizer.  Yep, not a fan.
  • Wet: At least the vanilla is less deodorizer and more Yankee candle vanilla. The urinal cake honey is still there, but the spices from the cinnamon and champaca mask it a bit. The undertone is present (olive blossom and sandalwood), which at least skews the scent to something slightly more pleasant. I’d imagine that this would smell lovely on anyone whose skin reacts well to honey notes.
  • Dry: Thankfully, the honey note does dissipate more under the  champaca, olive blossom, and vanilla; however, the combination of the notes leaves me with the distinct impression of bathroom soap.  This is a pass for me.

Other Impressions: None.

