Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Okay, I’m a die-hard leather notes fan, and the other notes listed for this scent all work really well on me normally. I have high expectations for this one, so be warned that there’s some bias here on my part.

Scent Name: Keichu Noyetsu Warai Dogu

Manufacturer: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab – Novel Ideas for Secret Amusements: Lupercalia 2017

Scent Description and Notes: “Golden sandalwood, soft leather, champaca resin, and coconut.” -https://blackphoenixalchemylab.com/shop/limited-edition/lupercalia-2017/keichu-nyoetsu-warai-dogu/

Oil Color: Mandarin orange on my skin.

Bottle Design and Artwork: This is a standard BPAL brown apothecary bottle.  The label wrapped around the bottle features the name of the scent in bold, yellow letters set just above the name of the company, which is in small, bold white font. The label art features a couple of “laughter toys” for women.

  • ITB: The leather note is apparent, but it’s mediated by the softness of the champaca resin (like old-fashioned Nag Champa incense) and very faint sandalwood. In the bottle, the scent is softly feminine but alluring due to the more evocative notes of leather and champaca.  It honestly reminds me of walking into Anthropology.
  • Wet:  Yum, the champaca resin richly wafts forth as soon as the oil touches my skin.  It does dominant the other notes, but I can discern the golden sandalwood, which skews slightly sweet ans almost date-like underneath the resin.  The soft leather and coconut notes just aren’t showing up for me while wet, but it doesn’t matter since I love the combination of the champaca and sandalwood.
  • Dry: Four hours after applying, the scent has turned into a resinous blend of champaca (now, much softer and sedated), faint sandalwood, and mellow coconut.  There is only an impression of leather, and I must inhale deeply in order to pick it up.  It’s a rather feminine resin, which means one could wear it during the day and not have to worry about being overpowering or too “evening” once the scent has dried.

Other Impressions: None.

